Steve Clarke names Scotland squad for Euro 2024 qualifiers

Copy the link

Clarke names Scotland squad for Euro 2024 qualifiers

Steve Clarke has named a 23-player squad for the primary two fixtures of the qualifying marketing campaign for Euro 2024.

Having missed out on a spot on the 2022 World Cup, Clarke has had an prolonged time period to ponder the make-up of his staff for the fixtures with Cyprus and Spain.

Essentially the most inclusion is that of Norwich City goalkeeper Angus Gunn, who has switched allegiances from England to place himself in line to make his debut.

Zander Clark and Liam Kelly – of Hearts and Motherwell respectively – will compete with Gunn at a time when Craig Gordon is a long-term absentee.

In the meantime, Nathan Patterson, Aaron Hickey and Callum McGregor all return to the squad after their respective spells on the sidelines earlier than the tip of the yr.

Nathan Patterson in action for Everton on September 18, 2022.

Lyndon Dykes is ready to take his spot within the group having just lately come again into rivalry at Queens Park Rangers after damage.

The opening fixture versus Cyprus is scheduled to happen on March 25, with the showdown with Spain three days later additionally being staged at Hampden Park.

Norway and Georgia are additionally current within the group, with the 2 high nations incomes a spot on the subsequent main match in 2024.

Squad in full

Goalkeepers: Zander Clark, Angus Gunn, Liam Kelly

Defenders: Liam Cooper, Grant Hanley, Jack Hendry, Aaron Hickey, Nathan Patterson, Ryan Porteous, Andy Robertson, Kieran Tierney

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong, Billy Gilmour, Lewis Ferguson, Ryan Jack, John McGinn, Callum McGregor, Kenny McLean, Scott McTominay

Forwards: Che Adams, Jacob Brown, Ryan Christie, Lyndon Dykes